Sheriff Howard Citizenship Award

The Kip Kephart Foundation provides annual cash awards that recognizes one 5th grade student from each of New Kent County, Virginia's two elementary schools and an 8th grade student from New Kent's middle school.

These awards are given in acknowledgment of the overall positive character of the recipients, recognizing students who exemplify the character and spirit of an outstanding young citizen. They are lauded for their positive moral character and the impact they have on fellow students, their school, and community.

The Foundation maintains a plaque at each school, updated annually, engraved with each recipient's name.

Past Award Recipients:

2014 - 2015
New Kent Middle School – James W. Adams;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – James R. Walker;
New Kent Elementary – Aaron E. Sweeney

2013 – 2014
New Kent Middle School – Nicholas Parker;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – Jawa Johnson;
New Kent Elementary – Juliun Vogt

2012 - 2013
New Kent Middle School - Sherese Bonner;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – Christian Martinez;
New Kent Elementary – Nekhita Kassey, Augustine Gilbride

2011 – 2012
New Kent Middle School – Ethan Ashford;
New Kent Elementary – Seth Perez;
Watkins Elementary – Destini Lumpkin

2010- 2011
New Kent Middle School – Hunter Rudolph;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – Alandra Bell;
New Kent Elementary – Justen Stewart

2009 – 2010
New Kent Middle School – Rebecca Anderson;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – Rachelle Barker;
New Kent Elementary – Savannah Curry

2008 – 2009
New Kent Middle School – Christina Myatt;
G.W. Watkins Elementary – Miranda Carroll;
New Kent Elementary – Zach Quimby