The Virginia Museum of History & Culture

Established in 1831 as the Virginia Historical Society, the Virginia Museum of History & Culture (VMHC), the center for Virginia history, connects people to America’s past through the unparalleled story of Virginia.

By collecting, preserving, and interpreting the Commonwealth’s history, it links past with present and inspires future generations. It serves as Virginia’s premier research library and as its award-winning history museum, and offers statewide educational services, publications, research fellowships, and a strong presence online.

Bobby Chandler Internships

The Kip Kephart Foundation is proud to fund the Bobby Chandler Internships at the Virginia Museum of History & Culture. They have become important to the VMHC because they provide quality interpretation while diversifying the pool of museum interpreters.

Each year, after 25 hours of training, four paid interns assist the regular staff, volunteer docents, and museum educators, providing interpretation for visitors to the STORY OF VIRGINIA. Because the staff, docents and educators are always older than the annual 15,000 student visitors, the youth and energy of the Bobby Chandler Interns help present the visually stimulating overview of Virginia history in an even more relate-able manner.

Past Recipients

(Names in bold italics were hired by the Virginia Historical Society)

  • 2017-2018 Recipients: Erica Taylor (VCU), Adriana Acuna Linares (VCU), Lesley Boggs (VCU) & Rachel Murphy-West (VCU)
  • 2016-2017 Recipients: Hannah Lickey (VCU), Emily Jones (VCU), Brooke Bobincheck (VCU) & Sara Meagan Coward (VCU)
  • 2015–2016 Recipients: Tim Gruber (U of R), Khala Scott (VCU), Elizabeth Gerloff (VCU) & Ryan O'Hallahan (VCU)
  • 2014-2015 Recipients: Sarah Robinson (VCU), Shireen Malakooti (VCU), Mandy Tompkins (VCU) & Hailey House (Christopher Newport University)
  • 2013-2014 Recipients: Jennifer Tennison (VCU), Elizabeth Darling (U of R), Georgia Delamar (VCU) & Kristie Couser (VCU)
  • 2012-2013 Recipients: Katy Reynolds (VCU), Kaitlan Smith (VCU) & Amy Griffin (VCU)
  • 2011-2012 Recipients: Matthew Simmons & Jessica Ford
  • 2010-2011 Recipients: Robert Pryzbylski
  • 2009-2010 Recipients: Panayiota (Nota) Skamangoulis
  • 2008-2009 Recipients: Larami Van Ness
  • 2007-2008 Recipients: Caroline Musgrave
  • 2006-2007 Recipients: Geoffrey W. Cohrs
  • 2005-2006 Recipients: Barrow Wheary
  • 2004-2005 Recipients: Jennifer Akins & Melinda Maddox
  • 2003-2004 Recipients: Jennifer Rohrbaugh & John West-Bey
  • 2002-2003 Recipients: Rashard J. Wright & Allison Rollison
  • 2001-2002 Recipients: Deborah Ritz & Harold M. Marsh
  • 2000-2001 Recipients: L’Tynna LeSane & Chris Van Tassell